My Favorite Apps from 2015

Hey everyone.
It has been a super busy year and this blog has been quiet. But that doesn’t mean I have been out of commission. I have been working diligently on developing an accessible after school fitness program for kids with visual impairments in the district I work in. That has been taking up quite a bit of my AT and blogging time.
Here is a list of the top 10 apps I have used for my students with visual impairments over this last year:
Switch Trainer App:

Finally an app where you can teach all your switch skills in one place! Plus there is a free trial one your can download!

Click here for more information:

Switch Trainer App


YouTube for Kids
I use this app quite a bit with my students with multiple impairments to facilitate communication and choice making opportunities. I love finding the videos the kids like and creating symbol boxes for their favorite videos!

Click here for more information:

YouTube Kids App

 

Braille Reference App

I have been using this app with my older kids who are dual media users who use Braille functionally but need a reference. This has been an invaluable app for them.
“A VoiceOver compatible app that allows users who are blind to look up those many times hard to remember Braille symbols and contractions. Users have the option to search for more than 250 Braille symbols and contractions. You can either search by a letter (ex. a or about) or by dots/contraction (ex. 1 or ab).” -Appls Vis

Click here for more information:

Braille Reference App

I have been using this app with my older kids who are dual media users who use Braille functionally but need a reference. This has been an invaluable app for them.
“A VoiceOver compatible app that allows users who are blind to look up those many times hard to remember Braille symbols and contractions. Users have the option to search for more than 250 Braille symbols and contractions. You can either search by a letter (ex. a or about) or by dots/contraction (ex. 1 or ab).” -Appls Vis

 

Leave a Reply

